Introduction and BIG question

Hi Everyone!

I've been all over the Internet reading about WLS and I'm just a beginner, so bear with me.
Was really thrilled to have found the MA state board and I've already flagged a few docs.

Here's my big question:  It seems that the food intake post-op is very similar to a standard
WL program.  I must be missing something but it seems that if I ate in the ways that most post-op patients to, I'd lose the weight ... w/out the surgery?

What did the surgery do that changing eating could not?

That said, I've gained and lost a lot, mostly on low-carb eating plans where one slip up (my weaknesses are for pasta, potatoes, etc., not sweets) gets me gaining again.

Thanks in advance for your experience and wisdom!
Sue M.
on 2/11/09 11:37 pm - Nantucket, MA

Here are the differences for me:
Quick resolution of my diabetes - no meds after 3 days.  When I'm not fighting the blood sugar, weight comes off easier, even without the surgery...but the surgery is what cured the diabetes.

Could not overeat even if i WANTED to since my pouch will spit it out

No diet would allow me to eat so little and be satisfied

I'm generally not hungry at all.  I just eat because its on the schedule

I know that I underwent MAJOR surgery to help me - I'm working really hard to stay healthy (which means not doing things that would hurt my pouch early out) and practice good habits so that when I'm a year out I'm used to eating less and eating better.

DUMPING.  Not only am I not eating bread, rice or pasta (my loves) because they get in the way of fitting in my protein, but I'm not eating any sugar since I dump on it.  my sweet tooth has been kicked in the butt.